Bitter Sweet Orange Marmalade Cupcakes

I had really wanted to try out these cakes,and been thinking of new recipes to try and saw a blog post that gave me the push. I am really happy with the result. I used a basic cupcake recipe and added in the flavours I thought would go well using an orange cream cheese icing to top it off. Here’s how I did it.

Recipe
For the cake batter:
100g Butter
100g Caster Sugar
2 Free range eggs
100g Self raising flour
2 Tsp Orange marmalade
(optional to taste, drop of orange extract and or orange zest)

Extra marmalade for the centre

For the orange,cream cheese icing:
180g Cream cheese
350g Icing sugar
Zest of one orange

Makes 12 cupcakes
Baking time:15 minutes

Preheat the oven to 170′C. Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and blend in. Then mix in the flour and marmalade ensuring there are no lumps. If you want more of an orange punch add orange extract and or zest. Spoon the mixture into cupcake cases and bake for 15 minutes or until lightly golden brown. Remove from the oven and cool for 5 mins in the tray before transferring to a wire rack.

While waiting for the cakes to cool, using an electric whisk, mix the cream cheese and icing sugar together until smooth and combined. Bear in mind, if the kitchen is hot the icing will become very loose and may need more icing sugar. Once cooled I added marmalade to the centre of the cake to give an extra bitter sweet marmalade yumminess when you bite into the cake.  Now you are ready to top the cupcakes with the orange flavoured cream cheese icing. I chose to pipe them but you could top with any design style you fancy.

I added thick cut orange marmalade strips to the top of each cake for the final touches :)
These bitter sweet cupcakes are perfect to serve with tea or to those who don’t particularly have a sweet tooth.

Enjoy.

27 thoughts on “Bitter Sweet Orange Marmalade Cupcakes

  1. These sound absolutely delicious – I bet they would taste marvellous with some Earl Grey. I love marmalade, but I often forget about it as an ingredient for cakes. Which is silly since it works so well for baking, especially for treats to go with tea.

  2. I like the little orange bit on the top that corresponds to the orange fill inside! Very polished looking and still hand-crafty at the same time. :) Thank you for liking my post!

  3. Since I love orange marmalade I am going too make these delicious looking cupcakes.
    The first time I ever had orange marmalade was at a youth hostel in Europe in the early 70′s.
    My fridge and cupboard stays stocked.

Leave a Reply

