Sweet or Savoury Pancakes

Seeing as it’s pancake day tomorrow I thought I would re-post my pancake recipe so you can mix it up tomorrow. :)
These are the simplest easiest pancakes!

Basic pancake recipe
1 cup self raising flour
1 cup milk
1 egg
pinch of salt

That’s it! whisk it all together and you have your pancake mix. Easy as. Now add any flavour you like. For my savoury pancakes I added wilted spinach, spring greens and spring onion. Add to a hot oiled pan and fry on either side for a couple of minutes or until golden.
You will be surprised at how many pancakes this mix makes!

A few savoury ideas:

  • Potato
  • Spinach
  • Corn
  • Tuna
  • Onion
  • Mushroom
  • Leek
  • Parsnip
  • Honey and mustard
  • Chives or other herbs
  • A base topped with cream cheese and smoked salmon

I also made some sweet pancakes. Use the same recipe as above including the pinch of salt and add a few tablespoons of sugar. I added grated apple and pear.

Please note, once I had added my grated fruit the mix was a bit wet from the water content in the fruit. If yours looks the same add a few more tablespoons of flour. Had I only added one fruit it probably would have been fine.

A few sweet ideas:

  • Apple
  • Pear
  • Cinnamon
  • Blueberries
  • Lemon juice
  • Maple syrup or honey
  • Bananas
  • Orange or lemon zest

These pancakes are great for a breakfast, brunch, a snack, glammed up as dessert or as part of a meal. They are also a basic Yorkshire pudding recipe.

Enjoy and Happy pancake day!

32 thoughts on “Sweet or Savoury Pancakes

    • Same, especially as I rarely have all the ingredients so I end up making it up as I go along but this is great as you can add what you like, or leave them plain and top them with your favourites. :)

  1. Love how easy & versatile this recipe is – thx for sharing! We have breakfast for dinner every Wednesday & I’m definitely including this recipe in our rotation :)

  2. I love pancakes but for some reason it just doesn’t feel right if they’re not sweet! Aunt Jemima’s Maple Syrup, imported from the US, is my topping of choice, although I did one a couple of years ago with golden syrup, squirty cream and chocolate chips!
    The supermarkets have taken to selling “Pancake Mix – just add water” or what’s worse, “just add an egg!” – so is it really just flour?! I detest these things. Every time I pass one on the shelf I have to say, rather loudly, “It’s flour and eggs!!”

  3. Yum! My favourite savoury pancakes are chicken, bacon, cheese and spring onion. And I was actually planning on making them today without even realising it was Pancake Tuesday! You’ve inspired me to post the recipe on my own blog :)

  4. I just made some “sweet” pancakes with your recipe, except using wholewheat flour with baking powder and no sugar, just some mashed strawberries in the batter and whole blueberries dropped onto the pancakes as they cook. Yums and my baby (who’s one) loves it too, though she only likes the parts without the blueberries which is mighty strange since she likes to pop fresh blueberries into her mouth. In any case, suits me fine to have more blueberries all to myself!

  5. Pingback: Savoury Pancakes | my subjunctive

  6. Pingback: Happy Belated Pancakes Day « Sweet Sophia

  7. I didn’t know it was pancake day till the day after pancake day! What Rick have I been under?!!! :) I’m ready for next year with this post, tho!!

  8. These look so delicious! Will have to try them out on my family this weekend. We are definitely pancake lovers! Looking forward to learning more from you. Thanks for liking my post too :)

Leave a Reply

