Easy Puff Pastry Treats – Pinwheels

Pinwheels are seriously easy to make and they taste great. You can play around with sweet and savoury flavours and pretty much whatever you have in the fridge. If you’re having friends over for drinks, make these as the perfect snack accompaniment to have on the table or serve as canapés.

My savoury pinwheels:

I used tomato purée, a little leftover feta, some parmesan and oregano.

Then I made a sweet batch with raspberry jam, cinnamon and raisins:
 Here’s what you do: Take a sheet of puff pastry, spread on your chosen filling. Roll it up. Cut them into equal portions and bake in a preheated oven, 200’c for approximately 15 minutes. That’s it.
 

Here’s a few flavour combinations ideas for you.

Sweet

  • Cranberry and walnut
  • Nutella
  • Jam and mint
  • Honey, cinnamon and nuts
  • Mincemeat filling
  • Apple cinnamon
  • Shredded coconut and dried fruit
  • Jam and chocolate chips

Savoury

  • Pesto and cheese
  • Goats cheese and sun dried tomatoes
  • Mango pickle and cheese
  • Cheese, pickle and mustard
  • Walnut and goats cheese
  • Spinach, dill and paneer
  • Red onion and goats cheese
  • Jalapeños and cheddar
  • Blue cheese and walnut

They are quick, simple, inexpensive and delicious!
Enjoy
Peace and loaf 🙂

62 thoughts on “Easy Puff Pastry Treats – Pinwheels

  1. Pingback: Party Treats: Mocha & Almond Cupcakes + Pinwheels « Augustleaf's Blog

  2. So going to try this! Do you know what 200’c is in farenheit? I checked google & it said 392’f, which sounds high to me, but just making sure. Thank you!

  3. YUM! I’m expecting a post for hamentashens! I feel like you are someone who can do something creative/out of the ordinary with them. And I mean that as a compliment!

  4. Your raspberry jam pinwheels look adorable and i absolutely love your clicks. I love your blog and want to pass on the Versatile Blogger award to you…it is waiting at my blog…do pick it up!

  5. These look great! Such an easy recipe, and so versatile!

    Also, thanks for liking my savory oatmeal cookie post. I just started my blog a few weeks ago and it means a lot!

  6. These look delicious! I’ve actually got a sheet of left over puff pastry in my freezer and a jar of Nutella in my cupboard, so I’m gonna go now….

  7. Pingback: My crazy calendar « In the Land of Ridd

  8. Thanks for visiting my blog so that I could find you! What a cool endeavor you’re under – attending school for baking / management there of. Good luck to you! 🙂

    These little sweeties look wonderful and easy. I’m going to have to browse through all of your posts now. 🙂

    Thanks again for visiting me, I like your blog!!
    Zoe

  9. These look so good! Thankyou for liking one of my posts, I like it when I see other young people like myself doing food blogs 🙂

  10. Thanks for liking my post on Irish soda bread. I need a good recipe for a snack to take next month to a meeting and your pinwheels look perfect. I can’t wait to try them!

  11. Pingback: Mushroom, Capsicum, Olive and Cheese Pinwheels | The Modern Home Economist

  12. Hello
    Thank you for passing by my blog and ‘liking’ my post even though mine is not about cooking. This is a great post for me as I often look for snack things that I can make for aperitifs. I used to make something similar to this when I lived in the UK with ‘Gentlemen’s relish’. I am not sure if that is still available but I guess another anchovy paste would be good. I also wrapped knacks in pastry and then cut rounds before baking them. So this post reminded me of these easy and quick things that I can do with ready made pastry.

  13. Hi, thanks for liking my post on the Chocolate Covered Sandwich Cake. Love your blog so will be following you. Oh by the way ‘Vic’ I believe 200C is actually 400F, which, yes is a hot oven 😉

  14. Hi there, Edible Substance! Thanks for checking out my blog. I just wrote the other day that I am not patient enough to make fussy appetizers or elaborate pastries. But you may just change my mind, a la your ‘Easy Puff Pastry Treats’. Perhaps at SavvySIngleSuppers, we’ll give some of your recipes a try-out on our occasional Savvy:Out on a Limb posts!

Leave a Reply

