Banner Photo – Fougasse Bread

I have had a lot of requests and interest about the bread in my banner photo.

I first found out about this bread as part of my product design and development unit in the second year of my degree. The class was split up into groups and each given a bread product to develop. My group was given Fougasse. We researched, came up with our own flavour combinations and designed our own shape and finished look for the product.

It is a French flat bread called fougasse and is a variation on the Italian foccacia. Fougasse was traditionally used to assess the temperature of a wood fired oven. The time it would take to bake, gave an idea of the oven temperature and whether the rest of the bread could be baked. One of the distinguishing characteristics of fougasse is that it’s often baked into a shape that is somewhat like a tree or leaf, with one end resembling the trunk and the wider opposite end being more or less round in structure, the holes represent the stems of the leaf. It’s a great snack bread, to eat on the run or as part of a meal.

Recipe
500g Strong white bread flour
300g Water
50g Olive oil
8g Yeast
10g Salt

Additions
Red onion
Olives
sun-dried tomatoes
Anchovies
Pepper
Chillies
Mozzarella
Goats cheese
Caramelised balsamic onions
Feta
Bacon
Capers
Rosemary
Thyme

The flavour combinations are endless and are great fun to play with. You could also try sweet additions.

Yield
4 at 220g
Oven temperature 200’c

Mix all the ingredients together till a dough is formed. I always use my kitchenaid with a dough hook on speed one for about 10 mins. If you are kneading by hand, once the ingredients are combined stretch and knead the dough for approximately 20 minutes until a soft dough is formed. Place it in a lightly oiled bowl to ferment for 1 hour, cover with cling film. After 40 minutes you need to knock back the dough. This is done to get rid of excess air bubbles. Push the dough a few times with your knuckles (like a light kneading) until it looks at it did before fermentation, cover and leave for the remaining 20 minutes.

Then scale at 220g (approx 250g if you have added many different ingredients). Mould into rounds and leave for a 10 minute intermediate prove. On a lightly floured surface using a rolling-pin ,roll out the dough to your chosen shape. Then with a sharp blade cut the dough and separate using your fingers to shape the holes. Place on a tray and prove for 25mins. Once proved bake in a preheated oven for 10-12mins. Remove from the oven when golden and leave to cool. Some bakers brush the finished bread with olive oil to add shine and flavour.

Bread baskets - they always look awesome

Enjoy
Peace and loaf 🙂

52 thoughts on “Banner Photo – Fougasse Bread

  1. Your food looks awesome! I might try a version of this bread suitable for kids who don’t like to many surprises in their food. I wonder whether you’ve tried this with whole wheat flour? Do you have any advise on making this substitution?

  2. These are beautiful! I love to make onion and olive focaccia – this would be a much more attractive variant on that. I’ll definitely be giving this a try. Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  3. These look amazing! Usually conquering bread makes me a little nervous because I feel like so many things can go wrong. This looks pretty straightforward and I love all the ideas for variations! Yum!

  4. Hi!
    Just wanted to say thanks for the favourite on my post, it was very kind of you.

    Your blog is incredibly interesting, it’s always good to see someone who lives and breathes the same things as me! I particularly like this post because we made this bread on my Italian bread making course (I know it’s French) and they turned out amazing. We used an outside wood burning oven to make all of our breads which made them fantastically tasty and the olive oil that covered all our breads was made on the grounds at the Villa we stayed at so that was extra special. My favourite thing about Fougasse bread is how crunchy the extra edges makes the loaf. I could eat the whole loaf with some Balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

    Your bread looks beautiful 🙂
    Samantha

  5. Hi Danya, oh my gosh this looks…dangerously delicious ! I have a weakness for fresh bread ! What normal person doesn’t right? Iv always been a lil scared of baking my own bread so I’m so glad you came along,who better to learn from than a baker right? Keep it up ! I’ll be learning.

  6. This looks great; I did a whole wheat focaccia that tasted yummy myself, but I love the visual appeal here. I think I will try it, based on your photos & reviews it seems like it will be pretty on the inside and outside, lol.

  7. Hi, just wanted you to know I made this wonderful little bread using your recipe. It turned out really great! I didn’t make the pretty shapes like you did and now I wish I had. I put in a link back to you. Thanks for sharing this gereat recipe!!! Donna

  8. Oh I’ve seen these in French markets. Yours look great. I’m just about to embark on my first attempt at Sourdough bread and I’m a little bit unsure about it all, but hey, if you don’t try you never know.

  9. This is one of my favorite breads to make, especially with olives. Not only does it taste great, but it reminds me of trips through the Vaucluse in Provence where I first encountered it. I like making it with a sourdough starter rather than yeast, but yours still look great. I love the fact that you give your recipes in grams–it makes the recipe so much easier to scale. Good post. Ken

Leave a Reply

